So….. I’ve Kinda Moved

June 29th, 2015 I walked into my boss’s office via her request.

I had just came back from a 2 week vacation and was feeling renewed. Sometimes you just need a break from the monotony of the day-to-day schedule and just needed a little encouragement from the sunshine to de-stressed. During my vacation in the South Carolina Lowcountry, I wrote down professional and personal goals for myself: become more extroverted so you can network better, dress for the job you want to have and not the one you do…. you know, simple tweaks that I felt could bring me to a professional standard.

I was, for the first time in my life, ready to work.

I sat down in the chair in front of my boss with keen interest and stood up a bumbling, crying mess.

I was laid off….again.

This was the 2nd “adult,” job I had where my services were “no longer required.” I was shocked and hurt, but as soon as I could compose myself after letting thick tears mingled with eyeliner and snot run down my nose, I said, “That’s it. I’m moving out of Florida.” And I did just that.

Right now, I writing to you in my new apartment in a historic neighborhood in Chicago, IL. I have officially traded my flip flops for thick heavy duty snow boots and couldn’t be happier.

For years, I talked about moving. I obsessed over it! Told it to everyone under the sound of my voice, “I’m going to move out of Florida.” The crazy part is that I never believed it. I figured that I would resign myself to South Florida living someday….meet a perfect guy, get married and even have a kid (even though I wanted to have a child-free lifestyle) not because I wanted it…but because the pessimist in me believed that dreams just don’t happen. I’m pretty sure people all over the world had dreams that never materialized because…. Life. And I figured that, that would happen to me.

After getting laid off, I had to make a choice: Either stay in Florida, get another job and live the same way or leave and change the trajectory of your life’s story by starting over somewhere else.

The decision I made was a hard one given that I had only lived at the most 2 hours away from my family my entire adult life. It was hard because my twin’s daughter is only 1 and probably won’t remember me when I see her again even though I think about her everyday. My mom’s birthday was a couple of weeks ago and my family (aunts, uncles, cousins) went out to eat. I instantly realized that I won’t be able to attend those birthday dinners anymore.

All those simple things I took for granted when I was home seem so magical to me now, but I don’t regret my decision.

Maybe one day, I’ll meet the perfect guy and get married and have a kid. But, the only thing is that it just won’t be in South Florida.

NappyCentric~~PEACE

Leave a Reply

