The New Faces of Carol’s Daughter Promote Diversity?

If you’ve been natural any length of time, you’ve heard of Carol’s Daughter–the black hair care line that many curly-haired girls swear by! (I, however, don’t. It really didn’t work for my thick wooly hair. Besides, it’s too got dang expensive! I’m a firm believer that hair products don’t necessarily have to be expensive in order for them to work).

Anyway, the product line has been geared towards Black Females since it’s inception.

Many celebrities, such as Mary J. Blige and Jada Pickett-Smith have been the “Faces of Carol’s Daughter,” over the recent years, a marketing tool to say that “Yes, these products are for you.”

Today, Carol’s Daughter revealed the new faces of the line–Solange Knowles, Selita Ebanks and Cassie–to promote diversity.

Please, look at the picture below:

I am very disappointed in this ad because it fails to show the diversity in Carol’s Daughter customers.

What ad execs fail to realize is that when it comes to hair products, women will only buy products that they believe can work for them or is for them. You don’t see a Hispanic girl on relaxer hair boxes… You don’t see a white chick on Dr. Miracles commercials…

Women will only use hair care products if they can see themselves in the women that’s advertising it.

So, tell me, how many dark-skinned girls rocking a TWA will look at Carol Daughter’s ads and say, “I think I’ll try that?”

NappyCentric~PEACE

5 thoughts on “The New Faces of Carol’s Daughter Promote Diversity?

  1. This ad is the complete opposite of diversity and “promoting a colorless society” (which I read in on the press statements). If the ad was in fact about diversity, show women of different colors (a Hispanic,Middle Eastern, African American and Caucasian women) that would be diversity. But as an dark-skinned African American woman, this ad further perpetuates my childhood taunts, that my skin tone isn’t good enough. I have stopped buying CD products because of the rise in cost and decrease in products sizes.

    BTW, Cassie isn’t a role model, what has she accomplished beyond making a few sleazy pop songs.

  2. I for one, remember when Carole’s daughter premeired in Essence mag more than 10 years ago. I remember it all…. but I can’t say I know what’s going down with Carole’s daughter these days. That ad looks so “done” if you know what I mean. No longer is Carole that cottage industry company where you can imagine that they are busy in the garage filling all the orders.
    I understand growth, but at what expense? I remember back in the day, when people proclaimed the deliciousness of these products. Now I’m reading complaints that could not have been imagined back in the day for Carole’s.
    What price progress? The heart and soul of the business itself? So utterly sad.

  3. You are so on -point with this post Nappycentric. This is nothing but the same old anti-Black female colorism garbage that has made for decades and continues to make life miserable for dark-skinned Black women and girls. I will NEVER spend a dime on this company’s junk!

Leave a Reply

