Don’t Believe the Lies! Guys Like Natural Hair, too! :-)

I think one of the main reasons why I delayed my Natural Hair Journey as long as I did was because I was afraid what people would perceive me…and when I say people I mean those of the male variety.

It’s shallow, I know, but I can’t tell you how many girls I know that have considered going natural and didn’t do it because they thought nappy  hair would be unattractive to the opposite sex.

And it doesn’t help that celebrities like Method Man derides Natural Hair:

“No. I don’t like peasy afros, sorry. I don’t like dreads either. I like a woman to get her hair did.“

Method Man tried to clear out his comment stating on his twitter account that Natural Hair was DIRTY and UNKEMPT.

So, with idiots like that saying narrow-minded comments, plus the overabundance of women in music videos with straight weaves down their back, it’s no wonder that Black girls are reluctant to embrace their hair in its natural state.

I was one such girl. I remember the day of my Big Chop, March 2, 2009. A guy I liked made it known, not by his words, but facial expression, that he HATED my hair. But, I had already geared myself to such confrontations and did not regret my decision to embrace my roots.

He was the last guy that ever made me feel uncomfortable with my decision. Because, honey, after I gained my confidence and walked University of Central Florida’s campus as if I didn’t have a care in the world, there were a lot of guys that took notice of me.

In fact, I would say more guys started to come up to me AFTER I BC’ed. 🙂

And it wasn’t no disrespectful, “Psss…Hey, girl!,” leaning out the side of their friend’s car type of attention. It was a “Hello. You look beautiful,” type of attention.

When my hair was short and natural, I was approached. When my hair was in braids, I was approached. When my hair was relaxed, I was approached. When I wore a sew-in, I was approached. And now, my afro is bigger, guess what? I still get approached.

I’ve never met one Black man who said anything negative about my hair. I actually get a lot of compliments 🙂

It all boils down to CONFIDENCE.

It really doesn’t matter if you wear your hair relaxed or natural…hell, you can go bald like Amber Rose…as long as you’re confident and conscious of yourself, feelings, emotions…then a guy WILL notice you 🙂

NappyCentric~~PEACE

Leave a Reply

