Weight Loss Journey~~Emotional Attachment to Food

Honestly, I think I’m doing really good when it comes to the exercise portion of my weight loss journey. I exercise regular–well as reguarly as I can be while working these God-awful hours! I’m glad I finally have an exercise regimen that I can stick to 🙂

But, weight loss isn’t all about exercise, is it?

Eating right is the other half of the battle–a half in which I’m finding it terribly hard to defeat.

But, I think I’ve come up with a solution as to why.

I think I have an Emotional Attachment to Food.

I eat when I’m happy, I eat when I’m sad, I eat when I depressed, when I’m lonely, when I bored, I eat when I’m stressed and when I’m not having a good day. I eat to celebrate.

For example, this past Wednesday I did  practice exam for the GRE and got a pretty decent score. Away I go to Taco Bell to get a Gordita Crunch and Soft Shell Taco to celebrate! Last night, when I was getting ready to go to work, to my intense displeasure, I saw a HUGE cockroach crawling all over my hair supplies. (Now, I have a phobia of big roaches…little ones I can deal with, but those big ones? Oh, they’re so gross!!!!!). Following that ordeal I went to Walgreens to get a 5-hour-energy shot to keep me awake a work and, just because I was still shaking from the trauma, I decided to buy a Reeses Peanute Butter Cup—just to sooth my nerves and calm that intense fear.

And I devoured that candy bar…

I say all that to state that I have a BIG problem.

How am I supposed to lose weight while running to food everytime I have an intense emotion–good or bad?

NappyCentric~~PEACE

Leave a Reply

