It’s Black History Month, Everybody!!!!!

Two reasons why I’m soooo elated this morning.

First,  I finally finished a grad school application and now am on to the next 4 or 5 I have to do LOL. But it feels REALLY good to get the other one out the way!

Second, today is the 1st of February. The Love Month and…. BLACK HISTORY MONTH!!!!!!!!!

This year, I plan on challenging myself to find more information about other Blacks who made a contribution to the cause. Now, I love MLK and Harriet Tubman and Malcolm X and Frederick Douglas, but there’s more Blacks that have not been paid their due.

For example, The Black Panthers–actually The Black Panther Party for Self-Defense.

When people think of the Black Panthers, they automatically think of all black, berets, guns and other negative images that have been conjured up by the media of that day. However, the Black Panthers were NOT a terrorist organization.

Actually, it was the Black Panthers who started the nation’s first free breakfast for students. They did a lot of charity. They helped their community.

The reason why they carried their guns wasn’t because they were angry, but because they were exercising their right to bear arms to protect themselves and their community against police brutality.

How do I know all this? Well, I met a former Black Panther during my time at the University of Central Florida. He, like other former Black Panthers, continued to go in and out of jail because of “crimes,” the FBI said they did during the ’60s. I just happened to have met him when he was out of jail.

Honestly, it was a turning point in my life. This man, even though his life was plagued by long stints in jail, did not forsake the things he did to benefit and protect his community.

Pretty cool, huh?

So, I challenge you to read up on Blacks other than the ones heavily publicized every February.

Expand your knowledge.

NappyCentric~~PEACE

 

Leave a Reply

