Really Contemplating Dating Outside My Culture…. o__O

Oh, boy! I think I’m having an intellectual crisis!!!!!!! 😦

As the title suggests, I’m seriously contemplating dating outside my Black culture. It’s actually been on my mind for the past couple days. I’ve been mulling it over and over again in my brain and, the more I think about it, the better the idea seems.

Now, I’m all for my Black men and I am all for the building of strong Black relationships and families! But, why do I feel this sudden urge, this irresistible desire, to really spread my wings when it comes to the dating scene? I’ve tried to turn my thoughts away from this, believe me I tried, but it still stuck. Instead of fighting it, maybe I should explore it?

Is it really that bad?

This is the question I have been putting to myself over the past couple days. And my conclusion is “No.”

There are two main points that drew me to this conclusion, and quite possibly, into the arms of men outside my culture.

Point One: Black men do it all the time, so why can’t we?

I’ve stated several times that Black women are the most LOYAL women in the world. No matter how much pain a Black man puts her through–embarrassment, humiliation, heartache–a Black woman would (usually) never turn to another culture because of it. Just look at the rap and R&B videos and their artists. The Black women’s image has been desecrated again and again by the image that OUR men have chosen is acceptable all for the love of money. Listen to the lyrics such as Lil’ Wayne (you knew I was getting to this clown)… how even he says a Black woman isn’t beautiful unless she’s light-skinned. Latinas and White women dot the music landscape…Hell! Even my boy Rick Ross has an unhealthy obsession with Latinas.

And it’s not just the music industry. Black men who have dated Black women up until they catch their big break in Football or Basketball, will drop a Black woman just to marry outside their race. To them, a Black woman is acceptable to drop babies in, but not to marry.

But, we remain steadfastly faithful.

Can you see my point?

So, if Black men can go out and date outside their culture, why can’t we?

Point Two: How can we appreciate what we have, if we never know what we don’t?

How can I tell people that Black relationships are amazing, if I 1.) never been in one (LOL) and 2.) never explored other cultural relationships?

Is it so wrong for Black women to explore uncharted territories? To venture out of tradition into new horizons?

And, if we come back to Black men, we’ll appreciate the culture more.

So, those are my thoughts. I don’t know if I’m really going to do this, but it’s something that I think I’ll consider.

Maybe I’ll start dating Asian guys… I happen to think Asian guys that act Black are kinda sexy LMBO 🙂

NappyCentric~~PEACE

4 thoughts on “Really Contemplating Dating Outside My Culture…. o__O

  1. Go for it!!! Love is hard enought to find without limiting onesself to certain type. Plus as you said, if black men can do it so can we. With the number of eligible black men diminishing by the day, holding out for a black man might be a recipie to be single for a L.O.N.G time.

  2. I’m sure that you already know that it is entirely your choice who to date or not date.

    Are you thinking of including other races of men because

    1. you value yourself highly enough to want the best choices of dates or mate for yourself and
    2. enlarging your dating pool greatly increases the chances that happening?

    Or because

    1. you want to mimic what some black men do and
    2. prove that black relationships are amazing (when you can only speak on your own personal black relationship not all black relationships WHILE overlooking all of your own observations re: misplaced loyalty, degrading music videos, and illegitimate babies from your previous paragraphs)?

    You owe it to yourself to be clear about what you do and why. You will be much more confident in your decision when you do.

    1. Wow! That’s something to seriously think about. I guess what I’m trying to do is curve the “why” questions. I mean, I’ve always been attracted to men outside my culture, but never pursued it because of the above questions….
      Hmmm…will definitely think about it. THANKS!!!!

  3. You’ve never been in a Black relationship…? That’s interesting.

    Well, do your thing NappyCentric. You have a curiosity, and there’s nothing wrong in seeing what’s out there. It’s what life’s supposed to be about.

    Venturing the world and all it has to offer us.

    You should go with your gut. Always…

Leave a Reply

