The Pros and Cons of Going Nappy :)

March 2, 2009, I took a deep breath, marched into a beauty salon and begged the beautician to slice my shoulder-length, healthy relaxed hair to a 1 1/2 inched TWA (Teeny Weeny Afro).

On March 3, 2009, I woke up, took off my scarf, looked in the mirror and cried for about 30 minutes. LOL

Not really the powerful and freeing Big Chop story that you would THINK I would divulge, but, over time, I began to love my hair for what it really is.

It wasn’t the hair, I was worried about though. I was so comfortable hiding behind my relaxed-locks that the shock of cutting off my hair was a little too much. Oh, I pretended that I was HAPPY with the transformation the day of, but, after the adrenaline and shock work off, I broke down.

Don’t let this scare you!

There are pros and cons of going Natural, but, to me, the pros totally outweigh the cons.

Maybe weighing the negative and positives will help you take that step into living a Fabulously Nappy Life

THE PROS

  • No Chemicals=No Scalp Burns (ouch!)
  • Less Manipulation–> You can wear your hair in several styles for weeks at a time and not have to worry about manipulating your kinks.
  • Rain/Water doesn’t terrify you anymore.
  • No More Hours at the Salon.
  • The Cost is Less…for some people 😛
  • You Learn to Style Your Hair
  • Enjoying Your Hair the Way God Created it.

THE CONS

  • Time consuming–> You have to relearn how to take care of your hair and it takes a while to learn.
  • Frizziness!
  • Shrinkage–> When your hair shrinks severely from is original length when wet.
  • You have to learn to style your own hair.
  • Retwisting dreadlocks and Sisterlocks ™ can be expensive.
  • Hair can tangle easily because of the tight curl pattern.
  • You may not spend money in salons, but you will in finding products that can help you tame your kinks and curls.

These are purely my own experiences and experiences with other Afro-nistas I know.

Hope this helps!

NappyCentric~~PEACE

P.S. Just cut it off! It’s Hair, it’ll grow back 😉

One thought on “The Pros and Cons of Going Nappy :)

  1. on your cons list– i’ve spent money on my locs ONCE. i started them myself, maintain them myself, and get love love love from everybody on their appearance. i cant speak for sistlerlocks, but regular locs and $ is not synonymous

Leave a Reply

