*sigh* Nostalgia~~ Where did Childhood go….

Back in the days when I was young I’m not a kid anymore / But some days I sit and wish I was a kid again

Yesterday was a nostalgic. 🙂

On Facebook, thousands of users changed their profile picture to their favorite childhood cartoons to bring awareness to Child Abuse. Child Abuse is at all time high–not just physical abuse, but sexual and mental and emotional abuse as well.

While the concept was awareness, it did remind me of the plethora of cartoons we had to chose from. It did bring back that nostalgia of running home from the school bus down the street so I could watch “Tiny Toon Adventures” before I do my homework. Or that feeling when “Rugrats” went off at 8:57 p.m. and I had to go to bed. Or getting up early on a Saturday morning to watch “Bobby’s World“, then “Life with Louie” at 10:30 a.m.(My absolutely favorite Saturday morning cartoon).

It reminded me of the easy life of a kid. When you can crack a joke at a kid and they not want to bring a gun to school the next day and kill you and the rest of their classmates. When you can get into a little fight on the way home from school without parents trying to press charges because their kids lost the fight.  When you played outside all day and you and your friends scattered like cockroaches when the street lights came on. LOL. Or when you grew up wanting to be a doctor or a lawyer or a firewoman, not Nikki Minaj or Lil Wayne.

Watching the kids nowadays make me terribly sad.

I can honestly say that my generation, the ones born in the 80s and the early 90s is the last great generation to ever have a childhood.

Gone are the days where we were comfortable in our innocence; where life was easy and we had no worries; where we were just kids and that was all. Kids nowadays have SO MUCH ON THEIR PLATE… they grow up faster, they mature physically faster than we ever did in the 90s. They are only digitally stimulated.

I remember one summer I worked at a summer camp and I had to TEACH the kids how to play hide-n-go-seek!!!!

They didn’t know what T.V. Tag was; never heard of Man-Hunt or Capture the Flag. And cried when they got hit by a dodge ball in the arm! LOL

Sad.

And they wonder why childhood obesity is running a muck in American youth lives. I can count on one hand the amount of big kids I knew out the hundreds I’ve met. Nowadays, half of the kids walking to school are overweight. SMDH

This is just further confirming how I’m going to raise my kids. They are going to be well-rounded. They are going to watch their cartoons, oh yes, but they WILL play outside. They WILL get dirty and sweaty. They’ll probably jam their fingers a couple of times. They’ll understand that if a person picks on you, that gives you no reason to take their lives. They’ll understand that losing a fight isn’t the end of the world because tomorrow they’ll be best friends with that person again.

And if my kids are anything like me when I was younger, they probably will be getting into a lot of fights. LOL

NappyCentric~~PEACE

Leave a Reply

