How to Manage Your Weight During a Night Shift

As many of you know, I finally landed a job; however, it’s working a nightshift. There have been many studies that link high blood pressure, heart problems and weight gain with people who work the nightshift. I don’t know about you, but the night time is when I do most of my snacking–chips, cake, brownies, cookies–all things high in sugar and calories. Even if I ate fruits and vegetables all day, when nighttime creeps up I’m gorging on cookies.

So, it could be the same at my job because I’m a night time receptionist that really doesn’t have to do ANYTHING. So, I’m bored and with boredom I eat.

But I figured out a little system to keep me from unhealthy snacking.

Before I got to work, which around midnight, I usually eat my only big meal of the day… usually left over dinner. Then, around 3 a.m., I have sandwich. Nothing special, just turkey and light mayo. Around 5 a.m., I get hungry again and that’s when I bring out my fruits of vegetables–watermelon, mixed fruit, broccoli, carrots and etc.

The high fiber content in the fruits and vegetables keeps me full until 7:30 a.m., which is when I eat some yogurt and granola.

I get off work at 8 a.m.

I go home and have another piece of fruit and am in bed by 9 a.m.

When I wake up, I have a light lunch and won’t eat again until before I go to work again.

So, this is my little schedule to keep off all that weight.

I hope to add working out Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesday because those are the only days I can.

I also received a lot of information about achieving wellness while working a night shift.

I’m going to see how that goes for the next couple of weeks and update you on my progress.

Let’s cross fingers that it works! 🙂

NappyCentric~~PEACE

Leave a Reply

