Happy Birthday to Me! :)

 

My twin sister Nichole (left) and me (right) at age 3 (20 years ago)

 

Today is my 23rd birthday and while things haven’t gone the way I’ve planned, I’m still blessed.

No, I don’t’ have a car, an apartment or even a job, but I have family and friends that support me and love me as much as I love them.

I don’t have money, I don’t own the world. I don’t have a significant other to wish me Happy Birthday. I don’t have all the things that the world says I’m supposed to have at age 23, but I like my life.

This past year has been crazy!

I’ve graduated with a 3.55 GPA from college, I’ve continued on my journey to have healthy natural hair (19 months and counting!) and I’ve met new people and cultivated friendships with them.

This is the first time in my life I can say that I have an awesome core of friends who I know I can count on–and who are genuinely my friends and not my Frenemies. 🙂  They speak positively to me, they are not toxic. I can see myself at 30, 40 and 50 and still being in their lives and them a part of mine.  I love my friends!!

And my love life? Last year I was in a crazy situation that I had NO business being in. Oct 14, 2009, I was weak and thought that my life was going end without this person. Now it’s Oct 14, 2010. I’ve gotten stronger and learned from my consequences. When they say time heals all wounds, they’re right. It may take days, weeks or years, but all that depends on you. It’s up to you how much longer you hold on to some knucklehead that doesn’t deserve your precious attention and your smiles. 🙂

 

Me 🙂

 

Another thing to celebrate is that when I was 18 I took a Vow of Purity, pledging to keep myself pure (a virgin) before God until I have married. I have still kept that pledge–5 years–and plan to keep that covenant with God.

All and all my 22nd year of life was pretty darn good. I’ve had my ups and downs. Times where I thought I wasn’t going to make it to 23, but I did it :). At 23, I’m not where I want to be, but all that is material and worldly things that come with time. I don’t have the “independence,” that other 23-year-old’s have, but I have something that very few people do: a loving family, friends that make me roar with laughter, and a bright future.

NappyCentric~~PEACE

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me! :)

Leave a Reply

