Nappy Hair Essentials

I’m almost there, my 24 Month Napptural Anniversary!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

As of September 2, 2010 I am 18 months natural and 18 months closer to healthier hair. I have to be honest, I didn’t think I would get this far. I honestly thought that I would adhere to the call of the CREAMY CRACK but I didn’t. I remained strong and for that I’m going to give myself a pat on the back…

I don’t think I would’ve made if it wasn’t for my top 5 hair necessities or my Must Haves…

1#) Giovanni Hair Care Products

When I say this stuff is a necessity believe me it is. The Giovanni Hair Care Products that I use are Smooth as Silk Deep Moisture Shampoo, Smooth as Silk Deeper Moisture Conditioner, Tea Tree Triple Treat Invigorating Shampoo andย  the Direct Leave-in Weightless Moisture Conditioner. Why do I need two types of shampoos you ask? I’ll have to explain that later in another post. ๐Ÿ™‚

These products work best for my hair because they penetrate my hair shaft with moisture (which is my #1 hair problem) and leave it very soft and manageable… the conditioners really detangle my hair as well.

#2) Fantasia IC Hair Polisher Styling Gel w/ Sparkle Lites

If you are like me when it comes to your natural hair journey, you’ve probably have been on YouTube and saw many Natural Hair Gurus talk about this gel. I decided to try it when my hair was short and haven’t touched another gel in over 18 months! What I really like about this gel is that it gives my hair a soft, but strong, hold throughout the day. It works well when I do my slick back styles as well as give my hair some curls. When I had a TWA, I used Fantasia IC for curl styles and it lasted all day.

#3) Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine Leave-in Conditioner

Unlike my Giovanni Direct Leave-in, I don’t use this conditioner all the time. I don’t use it daily only when I’m doing my twist styles. Let me tell you this stuff makes my hair feel soooo soft and gives my hair a nice little curl when I do my twist-outs. And frizz? To a minimum ๐Ÿ™‚

#4) My Essential Oils

I decide to put my essential oils into one. There are: Olive Oil, Tea Tree Oil and Peppermint Oil. Tea Tree Oil is effective in the elimination of unwanted fungi growing in the hair…but I don’t have that problem. I use Tea Tree Oil for my constantly dry scalp and dandruff. Peppermint Oil not only smells good, but helps stimulate hair growth. Olive Oil is purely for moisture. It REALLY penetrates my hair shaft.

#5) My Vegetable Glycerin and Water Spritz

This I make myself. I use Vegetable Glycerin and water; mix them together and use them as a spritz whenever I feel my hair is dry and whenever I wear my hair in a full-blown afro. It moisturizes my hair and makes it soft to touch.

So these are my top 5 Must Haves. If I was on a desert island I would be LOST without either of them.

NappyCentric

Leave a Reply

